top of page
  • Writer's pictureLilly Lebron

Nothing is Too Hard for God


Today

during my daily devotional time with the Lord, I was reading the account of Abraham and Sarah.


If you are not familiar with this story, I will sum it up briefly for you.

Sarah and Abraham were promised by God that they would bear a son.

There was only ONE problem…(at least according to the world)


THEY WERE TOO OLD…or were they?


Sarah was about 90 years old and Abraham was pushing 100!

Of course we know today that the age of 90 is well past the child bearing age, and surely Abraham and Sarah were well aware of this themselves, but still the Lord appeared to Abraham and promised him a son.


Let’s take a look at how Abraham and Sarah responded:


God also said to Abraham, “As for Sarai your wife, you are no longer to call her Sarai; her name will be Sarah. 16 I will bless her and will surely give you a son by her. I will bless her so that she will be the mother of nations; kings of peoples will come from her.”
17 Abraham fell facedown; he laughed and said to himself, “Will a son be born to a man a hundred years old? Will Sarah bear a child at the age of ninety?” 18 And Abraham said to God, “If only Ishmael might live under your blessing!”
19 Then God said, “Yes, but your wife Sarah will bear you a son, and you will call him Isaac.[d]
Genesis 17: 17-19

Then one of them said, “I will surely return to you about this time next year, and Sarah your wife will have a son.”
Now Sarah was listening at the entrance to the tent, which was behind him.11 Abraham and Sarah were already very old, and Sarah was past the age of childbearing. 12 So Sarah laughed to herself as she thought, “After I am worn out and my lord is old, will I now have this pleasure?”
13 Then the Lord said to Abraham, “Why did Sarah laugh and say, ‘Will I really have a child, now that I am old?’ 14 Is anything too hard for the Lord? 
Genesis 18:10-14

As we read...

we see that Abraham and Sarah both laughed believing that there was no way they would bear children at their age, but the Lord reminded them that THERE IS NOTHING TOO HARD FOR THE LORD.


If it is bizarre to man, it is NOT bizarre to God for what is impossible for man is possible with God. (Luke 18:27)


As I read this account I chuckled as I thought about all the ways that we do the same exact thing that Abraham and Sarah did. We think, “that is impossible. That is too BIG. There is NO way. I’m too old, I’m too young, I’m too sick, I’m too thin, I’m too fat, I can’t walk, I can’t see..” Or my excuse “I’m just a stay at home mom!” The list goes on and on.

We are all guilty of doubting the power of God. We are all guilty of doubting the things that he and will do especially for those who love him.


We forget that our God is without limits. He stands outside of space and time. His ways are not our ways and his thoughts are not our thoughts. (Isaiah 55:8)

There Is NOTHING that he cannot do!


Let that sink in.


It does not matter what it is, he can do it! If it sounds crazy, then it most certainly is a task for our God.

Give it to him!


Amen?


I pray that this encourages you today, and I hope that you carry this with you through out the remainder of this year.


All my Love,


Lilly <3


PS. If you haven't done so already, make sure you like and follow us on social media for updates OR subscribe to be alerted whenever a new post is published.


Follow on Facebook or Instagram

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page